SLEEPLESS IN THE SUNNY SOUTH

I am one of those people that requires my 7 hours of sleep each night in order to be on top of my game. Unfortunately, in the past year & one half, I’ve achieved that a whopping total of about 7 times, which means that right about now I am REALLY sleep deprived! (That stuff is cumulative, you know.) I am SO sleep deprived that I have decided to try to overcome my first embarrassing attempt at blogging by writing something else, as I lay here, sleepless in the Sunny South. (OK, so it’s not so sunny right now – it’s the middle of the night, so it’s pitch black out.)

Never an insomniac until the past year, which has undoubtedly been THE single most challenging of my entire life to date, I never could fathom why anyone would lie awake when they could be enjoying the benefit of peacefully sleeping & dreaming. I always told everyone that, “I sleep very well at night, because I try my best to do right by everyone, each & every day.” Nothing has changed in that regard – I still do try to treat everyone the way I think that God would want me to treat them. I never, ever do anything whatsoever unethical, illegal or immoral in business. I love my neighbors. I adore my kids. I feed the cat & let him rub up against my legs every single day. I read my Bible. Love God. Pray every day & every night. What could keep me up at night, then?

The battle is what disturbs my slumber, & makes me ponder life’s little inconsistencies, unfairnesses, & mistreatments, & which leaves me bewildered sometimes at how the very God I pray to so diligently has yet to answer my prayers for THREE THINGS. Many nights as I toss & turn beneath covers twisted from unrest, I ponder the meaning as to why, just why has God allowed me to continue to beg for favors that He may never grant?? SO MANY things then cross my frazzled mind: “God has perfect timing”; “His will may not be your will”; “All things work together for the good of them that love The Lord”, etc. etc. I do believe that  these things are true.

Nonetheless, on this morning when I am up before even the birds, the neighbors walking their dogs, & the  school buses making their rounds, accompanied by only the faint whirring sound of the ceiling fan, I am thinking more about MIRACLES. Yes, Facebook, Miracles are “what’s on my mind”, but I suspect that this writing is a bit long for a “status update.”

If you’ve read this far, then think with me about some of the countless action and adventure movies – you know, the ones that are real cliff hangers. There’s some guy – an average citizen, living out an average life, who gets caught up in something way over his head, of course. There starts his adventure, wherein he is being chased by the “bad guys”. He is chased. Chased. Then chased some more, He is chased until it gets to the point where he is on the very brink of disaster, running to escape certain death only the point toward which he is running also includes an ending of sudden death. Does he stop in his tracks & allow his pursuers to catch up to him & zap him into oblivion with their super duper, amazing weapons that are the best on earth but which somehow cannot seem to find their target, because the bad guys have such incredibly poor aim? Of course not! He keeps on running, running, right toward the steepest, most intimidating, most rugged gorge that graces the face of the earth. Faced with impending doom, he jumps right over the edge, only to find that, just as he is beginning his descent onto the swift rapids & razor sharp rocks below, a rope ladder magically appears right before his face, and his hand manages to, (despite the fact that his arms are wildly flailing about due to the fall), grab onto the rope ladder, allowing his rescuers to lift him safely to the waiting helicopter above. The love of his life, whom he’d rescued earlier in the movie, just happens to be waiting in said aircraft to soothe his brow, nurse his wounds, & give him the most romantic kiss in the history of movie making. (SIGH).

So, this all begs the question: Would this man’s rescue have been deemed a miracle if it had gone down like this? Man finds himself in a mess. Bad guys pursue man. He runs to the edge of a cliff where he patiently waits for the rescuers to lower down the rope, which he leisurely climbs, because the bad guys are so far behind. No drama. No deep, dark music. No reason to hold ones’ breath, nor reason to buy a ticket to that movie, either, for that matter.

So here I am in what is beginning to look like another ordinary day in the Sunny South – well, except that I will manage through it once again sleep deprived, because I am still waiting on my miracles. I imagine that the hero in the movie never stopped praying. He certainly never stopped running. In the end, though, his rescue was not of his own doing, other than the fact that he had to be willing to grasp the assistance that was offered him, & he had to have the stamina not to quit. I am certainly no hero. But I pray for stamina & endurance. I pray for rescue. I pray for THREE THINGS. I pray, for miracles would not be miracles if they came too easily. I pray for miracles for all of my friends who need them today. Do not lose hope – after the rescue, comes a good night’s sleep!

~ L.L.S.

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

