IT’S THE THOUGHTS THAT COUNT!

Sifting through, sorting out, & packing up over half of your life time into little card board boxes in conjunction with the end of an era that was supposed to be endless can be a daunting, sorrowful, & sad task. Little reminders of times gone by, both good & bad, spill everywhere into the spaces around me in an environment that I’ve called home for over a quarter of a century. Removing the dishes from the custom cherry cabinets that I helped the cabinetmaker design myself would normally make me cry, as I am about as sentimental as they come. Instead, as I reach for a coffee mug that was given to me as a gift, I smile instead, thinking about how the memory of the person that gave that to me will be traveling to my new abode with me, and it’s suddenly all good.

Throughout my house, (I can no longer call it my home – my new home is as yet to be determined), I find little trinkets that remind me that perhaps, for a small moment in time, I have made the smallest of differences in the lives of those around me. Many real estate agents give their clients gifts at or after closing, to help celebrate their new homes. Throughout the years that I have been involved in the residential side of real estate, I have been blessed with MANY times when the clients gave ME a gift! It always blows my mind when that happens, as I am just so grateful for the opportunity to earn THEIR business!

Yes, a pretty coffee mug from a client, (that had quickly become one of my favorites), makes its way into newspaper before being laid gently into the brown box which will contain my half of the kitchen implements & dishes. Then comes a very special tea cup, which has a place on its side to host the tea bag for re-use, from a client who realized my penchant for hot tea before bed each evening. My eye glances toward a bright, shiny magnet in the shape of a cross on my refrigerator, a gift from a client that I prayed with during a very trying time in her life that coincided with the sale of her home. In the dining room, a lovely pair of cloisonne candle holders that a new client brought me back all the way from India adds a welcome splash of color to my white china. My spirits lift, brighten, & yes, soar as I recall moments in times past when those whom I served cared enough to think about me in return. No tears, because while I am looking forward to soon seeing some parts of my past in the rear view mirror, these are parts that I will relish carrying with me.

Atop the cabinet in the laundry room I spy a handmade decoupage flower pot that a woman who relocated here from another continent made for me as an expression of thanks. In my glamour bath, a ceramic angel with head bent & hands clasped in prayer, the thoughtful endowment of yet another satisfied client, watches over me as I soak away the stressed of the day. She helps remind me that everything is really going to be “okay.” On to my study, which is filled with things that I love & hold dear, such as a tiny framed Bible verse, a a poster with an inspirational quote, & a a couple of tiny real estate knick knacks that people have given as tokens of their esteem. My jewelry box contains two  pins that separate clients gave me, back when they were the rage – one is shiny gold, & is shaped like a house with a “SOLD” sign dangling beneath it, & the other is a pewter pin with tools of the trade, such as a calculator & pen hanging from it – these items I still wear with great pride, though they were given to me years ago.

One item of particular note that always touches my heart whenever my eyes happen upon it is a quilted wall hanging of a house, & the words, “Lou Sams, House Hunter” on the back. This was made especially for me by a lady whose main desire was for a house with a room large enough for her quilting projects. We searched, & searched, & searched some more until we finally found just the right house. I am pleased to say that, when she & her husband decided to relocate out of state, they allowed me to sell that house for them, & that we remain in contact to this day!

I’ve received numerous gift cards to restaurants, one for a massage, & one for movie tickets. I have countless handwritten thank you notes, which is something you just do not see a lot of any more. I have even had multiple clients write unsolicited letters of appreciation to my broker. I am blessed to have gotten the gift of many referrals to other clients, who in turn have sent me yet more clients. Yet the best & most wonderful gifts that my clients give me is the gift of their friendship. I have many friends that I have made because I have represented them in a real estate transaction, & that is a gift that is beyond measure.

So, I thank each of you for the moments in time when you set aside your daily routine, & made me something with your own hands, bought me a token of thanks, wrote me a note, or drafted a letter of recommendation to my broker. I am sure you had no idea when you did those things that they would have such far reaching effects, but isn’t it that way with many things in life?

Dear reader, who will you think of today? Will you keep those thoughts to yourself, or put them into action? Will you take the time to make a call, write a note, or buy a token of esteem for someone that has a made a difference in your day, or in your life? You should definitely attempt to reach a goal of doing something to show your appreciation for someone in the coming week – you never know just how far-reaching the effects of a small act of kindness like that can be. Remember, “It’s the thoughts that count! Make them count for something good!!”
~ L.L.S.

 

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

