REFLECTION OF THE CROSS

REFLECTION OF THE CROSS

image
Crosses are currently a popular decor item, and can be found in both homes and businesses. Sometimes they are hung alone, and sometimes they are organized collectively in a group. Resin, aluminum, iron, and plastic are some materials that you can find fashioned to represent crosses of all sorts, and their patterns range from Celtic to Modern.

When crosses first became a popular decorating item, I purchased three of them – one large one, and two smaller ones. They are very pretty, made of silver metal, and to me they represent the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. I hung them above the acrylic block window above my whirlpool tub, and I would often look up at them when I entered my glamour bath. Sometimes I would glance up and see them when I was feeling blue, and I would remember that God is always with us, even when we are not thinking about Him. The crosses were always there waiting, whenever I went to take a relaxing soak in the tub, and to de-stress and refresh.

Like the crosses, He remains there, waiting for us to return from other “rooms” in our houses. Though we turn our attention to other compartments of our lives, such as our families, jobs, and hobbies, we should always hope to see Him at the beginning and end of the day.
When I moved to a new residence, I hung a different picture above my new whirlpool, but intended to hang these crosses once again in my master bath, a place where I’d be sure to see them daily. Though they are merely earthly symbols, to me they signified that my day should both begin and end with God, as the master bath is typically the first and last room I visit each and every day.

I hung these three crosses above the closet door in the bathroom, thinking I would be able to see them as I soaked in my new tub.One evening, I lit a candle, and drew a hot bath. I was sitting there unwinding when I realized that, due to the configuration of the new bathroom, one wall blocked my view of one of the crosses. I could only see two of them while I was soaking in the tub! While this was not my intention, I did not have the time, energy, desire or wall space to relocate them, so I left them that way.

The other night, though, while soaking in the tub, I looked up and saw the third cross clearly reflected in the bathroom mirror. Two of them I could see clearly, with a direct view. While I cannot see the third one in my line of sight, I nonetheless know it is there, because of its reflection. I’ve contemplated this a few times, and it occurs to me that, while some people are unable to see God in their own lives, they can indeed see His reflection in those around them. If you are a believer, then you may be the only way that someone in your life can see an image of God. YOU may be the mirror that reflects the cross to them. While God is always present, like that cross of mine, if there is no one to show Him to them, some people will never see him. If someone looks into you, will they see the cross reflected there? If not, the cross, then what will they see???

From now on, when I look at these three crosses, I will be reminded of God’s Omnipresence in my life, but I will also be reminded that I need to reflect this back out to those around me. Contemplating the reflection of the cross, it is a beautiful shiny thing! I pray I may keep the mirror of my soul clean enough that I will be able to adequately reflect a small portion of its beauty.

~ L.L.S.image

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

