Red & Yellow, Black & White

My friends who are of different ethnicities, races, religions, etc. than me know how much I love them! So before anybody goes hating on me for this post, please remember that, & read the whole thing. I, like many in our nation, have been much in prayer over the events in Ferguson. I just hate that people are always looking to throw out the race card without looking at the bigger picture. Did the Grand Jury make the right decision? That I truly do not know. I was not there. My “facts” have been spoon fed to me by a media whose purpose is to create ad revenue in order to ensure their paychecks. Perhaps the jury did make the right decision; perhaps they did not do so. I do have a personal opinion based on what I have seen, heard & read, but that is not the point of this post. What disturbs me the most is that some, but most assuredly not all, of the people who believe that justice has not been served have taken this as an excuse to do outrageous things – acts of crime & violence that are illegal & immoral.

We live in the United States of America – a great place where people are free to believe whatever they choose; however that freedom does not include violating the rights of our fellow countrymen just because something does not go our way. And if any of the folks who are bashing others with hate speech & worse are Christians, well maybe they should read the Bible which says, “Be angry & do not sin.” Righteous anger is some times justified. Inciting riots & looting with hate speech is not.

Yes, minorities in our Country have for generations had tough times & unlucky breaks. They have had to fight against discrimination, hate, & misunderstandings & endure many things that the average person did not have to experience. But no one, & I do mean no one makes it through life without trials & tribulations. When I was in my early twenties, I was one of only four commercial real estate agents in my area that was female. I was up against the Good Old Boy System. Sometimes it just did not seem fair. I was not born with a silver spoon in my mouth. My home life growing up was dysfunctional. I had many disadvantages to work through, but the key word is that I WORKED THROUGH them! I worked to earn the knowledge, trust & respect that experience merits. I did not use my disadvantages as an excuse to get on welfare, to create angst against the male gender, or as an excuse to commit crimes. And the advantages I gained by rising up through the ranks by the sweat of my brow far outweighed anything I would have had, if I had not learned how to overcome the discrimination of not only being a female in a man’s world, but also being one who came from the simple & humble beginnings of having a Dental Hygienist for a mother & a fireman for a father.

So while I understand how some of my friends who are minorities may be upset by their perception of the turn of events in Ferguson, what I do not understand is the other people, the ones who live there, who are using this as an excuse to break laws, hurt people, destroy things, etc. My grandmother was right about one thing when she quoted the old adage: “Two wrongs do not make a right.”

That old children’s song keeps winding it’s melody through my mind today: “Red & yellow, black & white, they are precious in His sight, Jesus loves the little children of the world!” Indeed. Now, if those little children will just LISTEN to the song & realize how precious they are, not only to Him, but to each other.

~ L.L.S.

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

2 thoughts on “Red & Yellow, Black & White”

Leave a Reply

