HOLIDAY & EVERYDAY MIRACLES

HOLIDAY & EVERYDAY MIRACLES

I have posted a couple of things about believing in miracles on my social media in the past few weeks, & without disclosing any details, I must give credit where credit is due: I have had the pleasure of witnessing one of those this holiday season!! Please do not misunderstand, I do have some prayer requests that I am still awaiting answers on, & I will continue to lift my those things that concern my family & friends up in prayer until we get answers one way or another. But as this year comes to a close – a year fraught with many smiles, but many tears as well for me personally – I must THANK GOD for this thing that He has done. And though at times I have had sorrow so intense that it flooded my entire being with sadness so scathing that I thought my heart would break for real, I have had the blessings of good friends & loving family members who have been there to dry my tears, make me laugh, feed me, go on adventures with me, shop with me, & help me pick up the pieces yet again.

Friends, God has sent me who & what I have needed at just the exact times that I needed them, & He will do so for you, if you will just ask Him to help. Most importantly, I have spent MUCH time with Him – watching His masterful hand as it painted some of the most astounding sunsets I have ever seen, listening to His voice in the bluebird & cardinals songs, feeling His touch as a gentle breeze caressed my cheeks & my puppy’s cold nose nuzzled against my hand, smelled His presence in wild honeysuckle vines, & tasted His goodness in meals prepared by fine chefs & fond friends.

Yes, in ways it has been one of my least favorite years, but tucked inside the pages of that book called 2014, I also find some of my fondest memories, as well. As we celebrate the new beginning that comes with tomorrow, Lord willing, I hope that you will join me in setting aside those tough spots, rough places, disappointments & heartaches & reflect instead upon those miracles that God wrought in your life & those of your loved ones during 2014.

I know that some of you will say that there were none – if you feel that way, please go look outside your window & see the sun shining down; or go & hold your baby, grand baby, puppy, or kitten & feel their touch on against your arms; or savor the taste of a juicy orange, a sweet Krispy Kreme doughnut, or some your favorite health food; or listen to the sound of a violin, guitar, piano, or voice of an artist in your favorite musical selection; or maybe just smell the scent of that cologne you got for Christmas, or an apple cinnamon candle as it burns, or the crips cool air of Winter time – for there are miracles both big & small around you, if you will just be cognizant of their taste, smell, sight, sound & feel.

Most importantly, pause for a moment or two to experience whatever & whomever God places in your path this New Year’s Eve – for this day, though designated as a special holiday, is really just a day like all others, & that is one in which is intended to be lived with all of your senses. Let us remember the good & the bad as needed, knowing that the painful moments make us appreciate the pleasurable ones. If there were no crises in our lives, we would have no need of miracles, & it is in the miracles that we truly feel His touch. Yet, lest we forget, He sends His miracles shining down on us every single day, in both small & large ways, whether we realize that we need them or not. Happy New Year!!!

~ Lou Lehman Sams

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

