RICH IN HIS ARMS

RICH IN HIS ARMS

I went to a Women’s Conference
I was looking for You there –
And as soon as the lady began to speak
I thought, “This just isn’t fair.”

I only wanted a closer glimpse of You
Instead, the images mirrored myself to me.
Boy, were they accurate –
My sins were right there for me to see.

As I’ve been hurt through pain & fire,
Back to the world I’ve made a hasty retreat,
When all You’ve ever wanted from me
Was to lay it all at YOUR feet.

Yet I’ve been tested, & I’ve come up short,
All the while searching around,
Looking for someone to understand –
Someone with feet firmly planted on the ground.

At times, I’d half turn to You,
Yet the other half I turned still away.
Hearing Your answers, but not listening,
Afraid of the words You might say.

“My child, it’s been too long,
Since we walked alone, just you & I.
And I want us to fellowship
But not just when you cry!”

Then I looked down deep inside myself
Grasping for the strength to smile.
Instead, I found a Father’s love,
Reserved just for a special child.

I thank You, Lord for helping me,
Holding me in Your arms so secure
When no one else was there for me,

In YOU, I was rich, instead of poor.

~ Lou Lehman Sams
02/14/1997

Footnote: I ran across this from many years ago, & while it is not a great piece of work, I hope that it’s message comes across – sometimes God leads us into places where it seems that no one understands or cares for us, just so we can grow in our relationship with Him. And this is not just a one time thing: sort of like parents let their children go out & play with their friends, but still insist on spending one on one time with them. I wish that the day I attended that conference & wrote this piece was the last time I neglected one on one time with my Father – but that would be a sin of another type. I hope that whoever reads this will take some one on one time today to spend with God – He misses You when you forget to do so! ~ L.L.S.

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

