A NEW DAY REVEALED

image

A NEW DAY REVEALED

Perhaps eating Japanese food within 2 days of a bad stomach bug was not my wisest decision, but it has caused me to awaken well before my appointed time. As I sit in the darkest hours of the morning, awaiting the sunrise, my mind reflects on the fact that sunrises are insidious things that creep up on you before you know it.

Now, I love sunsets, which is apparent by the many pictures I take of them. They are the Grande Finale to the Day’s performance. Sunrises, I am not as familiar with, as I am not an early morning person. However, this morning, awake before daybreak, hearing the seconds click, click, clicking with each minute rotation of the earth as it ever so slowly seeks to ensure that the Sun’s warm embrace has equal opportunity to cast it’s warmth upon my small patch of ground today, I am more acutely aware than ever of how dark it really is before the dawn. Will daylight ever arrive?

Perhaps in tribute to my pioneering ancestors who worked from sun to sun, it just seems unseemly to me to be up when it is still pitch black outside. So I surf the net, & of course, I write. Click, click, click goes the earth as it turns excruciatingly slowly on its axis. Tick, tick, tick goes the clock. And finally, when you did not think it possible, the faintest chirp, chirp, chirp of a bird heralding the first rays of light that signify that Dawn is in fact, making its appearance, just as promised.

Imperceptible without sophisticated equipment that laymen do not possess, the earth rotates whether we realize it is doing so or not. Like the setting sun, the one that rises does so in a manner which is gradual, smooth & fluid like a lover’s hand. And therein lies the beauty, for it is the slow unveiling that teases the Spirit & pleases the senses. A sudden burst onto the scene of the sun would not have the same effect. And think of the chaos that would ensue if the sun just disappeared instantaneously, without warning each evening? No, it is the nuances of the choreography that capture our hearts & imaginations.

Like the best symphonic composition, it starts mildly & quietly before building to its crescendo, then fading away yet again. It is also that way with the darkest night that you will face. Though it seems that daybreak will never arrive, it is on its way. Hold fast through the night, your sun will shine again, and there is magic in the unveiling – just you wait & see!!

~ Lou Lehman Sams

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

