SNOWFLAKES IN THE SOUTH

SNOWFLAKES IN THE SOUTH

Snowflakes fall silently, whispering secrets of picturesque settings that Southerners typically only know from the front of Christmas cards, & driving them indoors to hunker down against their assault. Lack of proper snow removal equipment to make the roads safe to traverse & lack of clothing warm enough to stave off hypothermia keep many indoors, but it is the foreignness of the snowfall that causes many to retreat into their man-made caves to hibernate until the thaw, as people fear what they do not know. As for me? I delight in the snow, & though they may not be fashionable, I wear my mismatched layers of clothing like a badge of honor as I play in the snow, wishing I had opponents for a raucous snowball fight, taking photos to my heart’s delight, or attempting to build a snowman even when the snow is too icy for such an endeavor to succeed.

I have a zest to experience new things, to embrace the snow that falls as if it is down from angel’s wings. But even adventurous souls like me get tired flying of solo, & eventually the bitterness of the cold will inevitably chase me back indoors where I, too, will hunker down in front of TV shows I would never normally watch, to sit mindlessly with a cup of hot chocolate while awaiting the thaw to happen so I can get back to the business of my life.

What about you? How do you handle the unusual & unique events that come suddenly & without warning to lift your days from your normal routine? Do you find a way to glean some happiness & a little fun from them, despite the fact that they cause inconvenience, delays, & detours? Do you go into survival mode, & stock up on supplies that you need in order to endure the situation? Do you possess a carefree attitude to let come what will? Do you fret & worry about the things you are missing out on while you are stuck at home temporarily? Do you pause in wonder at how your world can change in a few moments into something unrecognizable?

If you are at all like me, you do some combination of these things. Life is a fluid, changing thing, & it is never the same from one day to the next. External events beyond our control cause our days to evolve beyond our plans & expectations into unrecognizable creatures with minds of their own. But through it all, I hope you are able to find the motivation to make a snow angel, or perhaps just lift your face to the heavens & catch a snowflake on your tongue before your turn back within yourself & hide away as you await better weather.

Today, there is but a thin film of snow atop the frozen over layer of icy cold precipitation in the birdbath, so no snowman to be teased forth by my tentative hands. But as I see the snowflakes gently coasting to the ground, I still pause in wonder at the angel who must have shaken them loose from his feathers so that they would fall on me. Maybe, just maybe, they were sent from heaven, not to frustrate me because I will be unable to accomplish everything that I had planned, but as a Divine ministration to cause me to pause & reflect & to give thanks for the warmth of my hearth.

Alas, not enough snow to do anything much at all today, except read funny commentary about it on social media. But I know that, if I live long enough, more snow will come my way one day. Though I am unfamiliar with all that it brings, I do not fear the snow – I will be wise enough to heed warnings not to travel, have enough foresight to stock my pantry in advance, & enough faith to believe that it is but another moment in time that has been handpicked for my edification.

And if, as happened a couple of decades ago, I find conditions in the Heart of Dixie are ripe for sledding, but I have no sled, perhaps I will fashion one out of a cardboard box, & slip & slide as if I possess the very best sled that money can buy. Sometimes you just have to make do with what you have been given. It may not be perfect, but the memory that is made will be so, if you will but go with the flow. Or the snow, whichever the case may be. Now, if only I had a big hill in this neighborhood … Hmmmmmmmmm. Happy Snowflake Day, Y’all!!!

– Lou Lehman Sams

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

4 thoughts on “SNOWFLAKES IN THE SOUTH”

Leave a Reply

