LETTER TO MY FUTURE HUSBAND

LETTER TO MY FUTURE HUSBAND

Dear Future Husband:

I am excited about our future together, but want you to know that I will marry you because I WANT you, not because I NEED you. I don’t use men to go on expensive dinner dates, do repairs around my house, or change the oil in my lawn mower, so that’s not why I want to marry you. I want to marry you because I LOVE you, with all of your imperfections. Even though I have a long running comedic series called “Still Searching for the Perfect Man”, I realize that no such thing exists here on this earth. I am just hoping that God will one day send me YOU, because we will be compatible enough & love each other enough that those imperfections won’t  matter. 

I’m looking for a true gentleman. A man who opens doors for & protects a lady because he WANTS to do so, not because it’s expected. A man who is gentle, but wild at heart. A man that loves God, country, family, & me. One who, though he makes mistakes, is man enough to admit them & work on improving himself. One who is passionate about life, no matter what his age. One who has optimism, no matter what the circumstance. One who values integrity, & who realizes that character is our only true legacy.

But most importantly, dear future husband, I am a one man woman looking for a one woman man. Loyalty is non-negotiable. You give me 100% loyalty, & I’ll give you 110% in return. That includes not allowing the past, addictions, or other people into the inner sanctum of our relationship. A marriage is between two people – no one else. 

Other than that, everything else is negotiable. Whether you teach me to hit a golf ball or prefer to go to the golf course with your buddies without me; whether you choose to join me in my volunteer work, or would rather spend that time working on refinishing furniture (or whatever your hobby is); whether we go to a Baptist, Methodist or non-denominational Church; whether we have steak or hot dogs for dinner (okay, unless it’s the Fourth of July, I may opt for a salad instead of a hot dog); & the extensive list of things married people must compromise on in order to succeed. Every bit of that is negotiable. 

Of course, chemistry is essential, as is laughter. But love & loyalty are the things that will win my heart. My kids are grown, but I hope you like kids. And puppies. And sunsets. And the outdoors. But if not, just love me, & only me, & we will have a happy life together! I’m older, but I’m not old, & Lord willing, I’m not planning on being old any time soon, so we have lots of time for fun adventures. Are you ready?!?

I don’t know whether or not we’ve met yet, how tall you are, or how much money you have or will have in the future. I hope God will bring you into my life sooner rather than later. But if not, I will wait for you, because the man who loves me, loves adventures, & is honest & loyal, is worth waiting for indefinitely. In other words, I am not settling for less than the man God wants me to have,  but that does not mean that he is a perfect ANYTHING. People make mistakes, & forgiveness is a part of loving someone. 

I don’t know if you listen to Christian music, but if so, I hope you will listen to that song by Casting Crowns that talks about being “Broken Together.” Everyone is broken in their own way, but if we love each other, we can, with God’s help, pick up each other’s pieces. 

 Looking forward to everything that God has planned for the two of us – I’m sure that it is going to be AMAZING!!! We are going to have much FUN together!

Love,

Lou Lou

(Your future wife)

-Lou Lehman Sams 


 

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

