SOMETHING OUT OF NOTHING

SOMETHING OUT OF NOTHING

Have you been turned down for a job, a position, or something that you really want? Have you been told that there is no way that your dream will become a reality, or that you can succeed? Well, I am here to tell you to stop listening to those voices!! 

My 9 year old son was once told he would never make it on to even a Middle School baseball team by an overly zealous travel coach whose main goal was to garner attention for his own son. But my son loved baseball, so he worked extremely hard, practicing & taking lessons for hitting & pitching while other kids were going to parties, & he became the number 2 pitcher for his high school baseball team, which was at a 6A school! His picture & name made the newspaper multiple times, & he had opportunities, had he desired to do so, to play baseball for a couple of Junior Colleges in the area. My daughter once failed to make the yearbook staff at her high school, but she loved to write! So she met with her high school counselor, & she became a Community Columnist for the Huntsville Times instead. She then went on to graduate summa cum laud with a degree in Journalism from one of the best schools in the southeast, & was awarded the Outstanding Senior Award for the whole school of Journalism. 

I was personally once turned down for a marketing position only to be hired as the Marketing Director for a new elite golf course community which many people said would not succeed, & that indeed nearly failed multiple times. My sales of a product that existed only on paper at that time went on to be recognized in a national newsletter. 

The moral of this story is not to toot my own horn, or those of my kids!! If you think that, then you do not know me at all. The point is that you may get turned down for a job in this tough economy. You may be denied a volunteer position because the roster is already filled. You may be told that your dream can never become reality. You may be told that you are destined to fail. Please, whatever you do, please do not allow the voices of doom to declare your future to be a disaster!! Oftentimes those rejection letters are just introductions to accolades to come if you will just stay the course. The only voice you should listen to is the Spirit within you that tells you to keep going!! If God places a dream in your heart, He does so for a reason. If He says “No”, He might just have something much better & much bigger in mind. 

But you will never know for sure, if you do not keep going. As for me? Though I have personally met with “both triumph &  disaster”, I still need reminding of this from time to time. Like everyone else, I am a frail human being filled with fragile emotions. My disappointment at failed relationships, opportunities I desired which did not come to fruition, or mistakes I have made could easily paralyze me. But thinking back to the times that God has been faithful to me gives me the courage to press on. 

Selling real estate during an economic crisis is no easy feat, but I am a real estate survivor. Dating again at my age is a somewhat daunting task, but I will continue to accept invitations. Starting an inspirational video series to try to encourage other people during bad times with zero investors behind me when I started may seem like a foolish thing to do, but I am determined it will succeeed, because it is a dream that God has allowed to take hold so firmly in my heart, & I know that He does not make mistakes!

I cannot create ANYTHING out of nothing, but God CAN DO that! I have witnessed it first hand. I once chaired a fund-raiser for an organization that supports wounded servicemen & women. I took one look at that cause, & knew that it was something that was so worthwhile that I did not want to use any of the seed money from the small civic club to fund it, because I wanted all of the money to benefit the cause. So my tiny committee raised thousands of dollars without spending a single penny of that seed money. I wish that I could take credit for that. But I cannot do so, because I am, by myself, unable to create something out of nothing. But my God? He can, & He did!! If God calls you to do something, HE REALLY WILL GIVE YOU THE NECESSARY PROVISIONS TO ACCOMPLISH THAT GOAL! These are more than just words.

Still, I remain a frail human being with fragile emotions and I still need reminding of this. But I am thankful for friends & family who remind me to persevere in the face of those who want to rain on my parade. And so, I am paying it forward now, by reminding each of you to do the same.

Things may seem bleak. You may think that you have nothing to look forward to in this world. But hold tight to this: GOD CAN CREATE SOMETHING OUT OF NOTHING! And more than likely, it will exceed your expectations, & be better than what you had hoped for in the beginning!

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through His mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely  more than we might ask or think.” – Ephesians 3:20

– Lou Lehman Sams

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

