COMMUNICATORS AND CONNECTORS 

COMMUNICATORS & CONNECTORS
The only way to totally avoid miscommunications is not to communicate at all. I have always been known for being a good communicator, but despite that, I have my fair share (or perhaps more than my fair share) of misunderstandings with people. If you are going to “put yourself out there” on social media & real life like I do, then there is a greater chance of people inadvertently, intentionally, or unintentionally misconstruing your words & actions. And it has always hurt my heart whenever that has happened.

At least I have always made an attempt to rectify the situation, though several attempts were unsuccessful & resulted in severed relationships. Though you reach out & extend your hand & heart to another person, that is no guarantee that they will accept it, & there is the risk that they will take your heart & stomp on it, leaving you to wonder what on earth just happened. But I will continue to communicate. I will continue to put myself out there. I will continue to reach out if something goes awry. If someone refuses our gestures, that is on them. People will see what they want to see sometimes, regardless of our best efforts & intentions.

But if no one ever reached out, there would be no bridge builders, no connectors, & no healers. If no one ever put themselves out there, we would have no entertainers, no athletes, & no news commentators – no one to make us laugh, cry & think. If no one ever tried to communicate, we would live isolated, lonely existences. I am just an ordinary girl, but I will continue to tell my stories, dream my dreams, & try to assist others in their journey, because otherwise I think that life would be so mundane & boring.

Most of the time I get it right, but for those instances when I misstep, I can only ask forgiveness & beg understanding. If people choose not to forgive or cannot understand, at least I will know that I have done my feeble best. Is this post heartfelt? Definitely! Is it necessary? Probably not. But I am going to post it anyway.

-Lou Lehman Sams

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

