FLY HIGH, BUTTERFLY

This morning, I am contemplating change. Both good & bad. The good changes are personal & professional ones. The bad changes are the things like wildfires & tornadoes. 

Like many others, I have written things about butterflies as symbols of change, growth, & metamorphosis. We all know that the caterpillar has to spend time inside a dark, uncomfortable cocoon before it can complete its transformation, after which it is more beautiful, & free to fly. I recall seeing a butterfly outside my hotel room window on the 14th floor of the Park Vista Hotel in Gatlinburg, two years ago, & I marveled at that, because I had no idea that they could go that high!! I do not know if it is the season for butterflies up there right now, but if so, I hope that they were able to fly higher than the fires! 


You know, I have never heard of a story of a butterfly, once it flew up into the beautiful blue sky, the feeling of the warm air beneath its wings, the warmth of the sunshine on its little antennae, never once have I heard of one of them crawling back into its cocoon!!! Wonder what would happen to them, though, if they got scared, decided that they were afraid of heights, or just felt uncertain about their abilities, & crawled back in there? I am pretty certain that the cocoon, though tight, cramped, & uncomfortable, provided them some sense of security, nonetheless. However, I also am confident that they would probably die in there, without fresh air, water, & the right kind of sustenance. 


At some point, a butterfly’s destiny is to FLY! To shed that cocoon which restricts them from being what they were designed to be, which is beautiful & free!! No, butterflies, with their tiniest of brains, are smart enough to know not to return the dark cocoon, once they have found escape from it. For if they did, they would surely languish & die there!!! And they would not be able to fly above that fire, for sure. 


Why, then, do people do that very thing? Abuse victims return to their abusers. Unhappy spouses reunite with those who have cheated on them time & time again. Drug users return to their addiction. Recovered alcoholics fall off of the wagon. Kids quit school. The list goes on & on. 


You were not born to live shrouded in darkness. You must not return to that which holds you back in life once you have escaped from it. The cocoon had its place in your life, but once you break free, you are supposed to fly!!


So go ahead, don’t look back. Escape the fires burning all around you. Flee from the negative things that are keeping you down. Step out into the sunshine. Feel the wind on your face. Soar above it all!! 


To keep the world from seeing the butterflies’ beauty by remaining in that cocoon is against nature. And so it is with you. Fly, Butterfly, Fly High!!!


– Lou Lehman Sams 


“Therefore, if any man be in Christ, he is a new creation: old things have passed away; behold, all things are made new!” – II Corinthians 5:17

Published by

LouSams

I am a Southern Belle, through and through. Born and raised in North Alabama, where my family settled in 1808, when the area was still the Mississippi Territory, I come from a line of Planters, Patriots, and Pioneers. They were people who were unafraid to take risks, who said what they believed, and who honored God and their Country. Like my ancestors before me, I have strong values, believing that the Golden Rule is indeed golden. I write as a way to relate and as a release. I hope that my words may inspire, challenge and provoke one to thinking about how extraordinary things can come out of ordinary places, people, and things.

Leave a Reply

