PRAYING FOR TROLLS

PRAYING FOR TROLLS

Today I am praying for a Troll. Not just a Troll, but a Troll whose identity I do not know. Last year, I temporarily took down my blog due to malicious comments from an admitted Atheistic professor at a University in the State of Tennessee. I had already blocked him on FB. It seems that he had nothing better to do in life than mock my comments about God. He also tried to make me feel bad by posting comments on my blog that no one is interested in reading it, except him, and things like that. A GOOGLE search showed that particular professor is known for being an Internet Troll, and that he has apparently made hateful and disturbing comments on some of his own students’ and former students’ blogs. But after some prayer, I decided not to be intimidated by him into not posting my writings.

Now, I have another Troll. This one is presumably named Karen. I say presumably, because there is not a photo attached to “her” avatar, and if I click on it, I do not get directed to her blog. She has made multiple disparaging comments about my blog. Regarding Two Dinner Dates, she posted that my first date obviously ditched me intentionally due to my weight problem. Sorry to disappoint, Karen, but while I definitely want to lose some weight, I am a size 6/small, and I do not think that classifies me in that category. And that man which I wrote about took me on a lovely dinner date the next week. So there! Nanny nanny boo boo, LOL. 

 

Regarding Enough is Enough, she said the post made her feel melancholy and hopeless, because no one should depend on god to do things for them. Then she told me that I need to get some hobbies. And then that I need to go to the gym, so that I can lose that weight and maybe get a quality fit date for a change. Let’s see: God does things for me every single day of my life. I have more hobbies than most people do, and I do not think my schedule will accommodate another one at this time. I already go to the gym. And obviously she did not see the last guy I dated for 3 months, who most definitely is, without a doubt, one of the fittest men in his age group that I know, LOL. 

I am posting this because there will be other people who are targeted by trolls such as these who will not have the strength of spirit to shield them from the poisonous arrows that they shoot towards them. I logically and rationally reasoned out that this person obviously does not know me, because everything she attacked was so blatantly and obviously false.

But what if? What if I was grossly overweight, and struggling to lose it? What if I had not had a dinner date that was physically fit? What if I had no hobbies, and did not know how to begin a new one? Most importantly, what if I was doubting my faith in God?

Trolls such as these are dangerous people. I do not understand their motivation. They are unhappy, lost souls who seek to destroy other’s happiness and peace of mind. My best advice: Do not let them!! Remember Eleanor Roosevelt’s famous and very sage words that are often quoted: “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent!” No one. That’s right, Professor, I do not have to give you the power to make me feel inferior. And Karen, (if that is your real name), no “offense”, but your lack of logic is just laughable. No, you do not get my consent, either! 

So both of you should move on down the road. Preferably you will do so silently, but if you must regurgitate such negativity into the atmosphere, please do so on your own blogs. Then again, perhaps you have to post such distasteful things such as refuting God’s existence, attacking people’s physical appearance, and trying to undermine people’s self-esteem on other people’s blogs because you are so vile in your behaviors that no one would read yours?

Please, don’t get me wrong, people. I know atheists and agnostics that are moral, kind, law abiding citizens who do not feel the need to randomly attack other people or their efforts to inspire others. But these Trolls? Well, there is a reason that the trolls of fairy tales were of small stature, and lived beneath bridges. (NOT a reflection on homeless people who live beneath them in modern times!)

So why on earth would I pray for these Trolls? First, I pray that they will find the Light, for I do believe that they are lost souls. Next, I pray for all of their targets, that God will shield them and protect them from their efforts at belittling, demeaning, and discouraging them. Last, I pray that God will, by this post, somehow redeem the harm that they sought to inflict by helping someone else be strong. “The Lord is my Rock, my Fortress, and my Deliverer, my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my Shield and the horn of my salvation, my Stronghold.” – Psalm 18:2. Amen.

Pray. Kick those Trolls back beneath those bridges. Be strong, my friends!

 

– Lou Lehman Sams 

Leave a comment